200 YTT – Day 25-30 – Molding Time

I called this whole week “Hoorah Week” because this is the week we practice and apply everything we learned in the last 7 weeks of Yoga Teacher Training. An intensive yoga practice and practice teach for 5 consecutive days. I also consider this week the time we mold ourselves into the teachers we want to be. Of course, this could have already been happening once we signed up for teacher training. Tasha, my yoga teacher and trainer, gradually took us through a training that encouraged us to become who we want to be as yoga teachers. She taught us the Ashtanga practice as a base and fed pieces of different yoga areas; philosophy, yoga for kids, yoga for mommies, and ayurveda. It’s basically a small catalog of areas of interest. And with this catalog we exchanged stories and experiences that made our practice, as well as our teaching, authentic. We were able to find our voice and be who we wanted to be.

It was worth every minute of my time and vacation days. Co-workers have even said, “Wait. You worked over you vacation?”. It’s funny how they might think that, but remember the saying, “choose a job you love and you’ll never work a day in your life”- Confucius? This teacher training did that for me. Yoga was no longer just showing off, but it is a part of me that I feel have given confidence and made me happy. No, I did not do a full career flip to Yoga Teacher, but I want to. And this could just be excuses right now, but I don’t know how it would work right now. I feel like it’s my duty to my husband and my future family to have my current job. My practice will always be there and I have every intention of spreading it in small ways. Hopefully it works out in my favor and I’ll never need to work a day in my life.


Leave a Reply

